This postcard was published by the Shropshire Book Store of Rome, probably between 1905 and 1915. It is a view of downtown Rome between the rivers, taken from Myrtle Hill. In the foreground are riverboats on the Etowah river at the base of Myrtle Hill. In the upper right is the clock tower and Neely School. The Second Avenue bridge over the Oostanaula River at the left is a precursor to the current concrete bridge. One of Rome's lost railroad depots is in the foreground just across the Etowah.
Neely School, first known as Tower Hill School, was built in 1883, adjacent to the iconic Rome Clock Tower. It was renamed later Central Grammar School, and then named Neely School for Benjamin Neely, Rome's first superintendent of schools.
Here is a closer view:
Neely School was closed in 1958 and torn down in 1962.
Click on one of the labels below to see similar posts.